

Minutes of the Toastmasters International Annual Business Meeting Chicago, Illinois, United States August 25, 2018

The meeting was called to order by International President Balraj Arunasalam, DTM, at 7 a.m. on Saturday, August 25, 2018.

Chair Arunasalam announced the following appointments:

- Timers Cathy Cagle, CC, CL, Club 909922 and Rhonda Walthall, DTM, Club 2570834
- Credentials Committee Chair Past International President Jon Greiner, DTM
- Credentials Committee Vice Chairs Past International President Gary Schmidt, DTM and Past International Director Alan Shaner, DTM
- Supervising Director International Director Elisa Tay, DTM
- Parliamentarian Patti Titus, DTM, Registered Parliamentarian

Credentials Committee Chair Greiner reported as follows: A total of 24,064 ballots were accredited, representing 11,941 of the 16,864 eligible clubs, with two votes each, and 182 of the 476 eligible delegates at large, each with one vote. The Chair declared a quorum to be present.

Parliamentarian Titus explained the procedural rules prescribed by the Board of Directors for the election of three officers for the 2018–2019 term and seven directors for the 2018–2020 term. Titus also provided directions for delegates on the casting of ballots.

Past International President, Mohammed Murad, DTM, Chair of the 2017–2018 International Leadership Committee, presented the Committee's report.

The following are the results of the officer and director elections:



Candidate	Office	Ballot 1	Ballot 2	Ballot 3	Ballot 4
Deepak Menon, DTM	International President-Elect (uncontested)	1			
Richard Peck, DTM	First Vice President (uncontested)	1			
Russell Drake, DTM	Second Vice President	534			
Magnus Jansson, DTM	Second Vice President	3,885	7,031	8,794	9,127
Margaret Page, DTM	Second Vice President	5,642	7,366	9,433	12,558
Nagaraja Rao, DTM	Second Vice President	2,904	3,612		
Christine Temblique	Second Vice President	3,169	3,953	4,020	
Pan Kao, DTM	International Director Region 2	8,143			
Joan Lewis, DTM	International Director Region 2	13,736			
Larry J. Marik, DTM	International Director Region 4	12,859			
Kimberly Myers, DTM	International Director Region 4	9,028			
Carol Prahinski, DTM	International Director Region 6	12,048			
David Wiley, DTM	International Director Region 6	10,003			
Shirley E. Daley, DTM	International Director Region 8	10,843	10,467		
Anthony J. Longley, DTM	International Director Region 8	10,814	11,505		
Tuire Vuolasvirta, DTM	International Director Region 10 (uncontested)	1			
Marilyn Freeman, DTM	International Director Region 12	10,264			
David Templeman, DTM	International Director Region 12	11,892			
Susan Zhou, DTM	International Director Region 14 (uncontested)	1			



For the two uncontested officer positions and two uncontested director positions, a secret ballot was dispensed without objection and a single ballot cast.

Chair Arunasalam announced that Menon, Peck and Page had been elected International President-Elect, First Vice President and Second Vice President, respectively, for 2018–2019.

Chair Arunasalam referred to the letter to all club presidents notifying them of Proposal A: Amendment to the Bylaws of Toastmasters International. Notice of the proposed amendment was properly mailed to the voting membership at least 60 days before this meeting, with the Board of Directors' recommendation that they it be adopted. The proposed amendment includes enabling the Board of Directors to provide an alternative process for the Advisory Committee of Past Presidents to conduct business when a quorum is not present. If the proposal passes, Policy 11.4: Board of Directors Committees would be amended.

Chair Arunasalam called upon International President-Elect Lark Doley, DTM, to present and explain the rationale for the Board's recommendation for Proposal A. Doley then moved for adoption of Proposal A, the Bylaws amendment. Chair Arunasalam opened the floor for discussion on Proposal A. There were speakers "for" the Proposal; there were no speakers "against" the Proposal.

After an opportunity for discussion, a vote was taken. The results were: 20,422 "for" and 1,183 "against". Chair Arunasalam announced that the Bylaws amendment had been adopted by more than the required two-thirds vote of the votes cast in person or by proxy.

The Bylaws of Toastmasters International authorizes the submission of proposed Bylaws amendments by "at least one percent (1%) of all the votes held by the voting membership" (Article XIV, Section 1(b)(2)). Based on the total number of clubs eligible to vote at the 2018 Annual Business Meeting (33,728 votes), the 1% minimum requirement for any such proposal to be submitted for consideration at the 2019 Annual Business Meeting is 337.28, representing 168.64 clubs or 337.28 delegates at large, or any combination of those two voting memberships.

Chair Arunasalam also announced the following candidates elected as international director for the term of 2018–2020: Lewis, Marik, Prahinski, Longley, Vuolasvirta, Templeman and Zhou.

There being no further business to come before the 87th Annual Business Meeting, it was adjourned at approximately 11 a.m.



Pursuant to Policy 11.3: Board of Directors Confidentiality, items contained in the minutes of this meeting were classified as "unrestricted" upon distribution of the minutes by World Headquarters, not to include any matters marked "restricted".

Jennifer Barr Secretary/Treasurer

Distribution: Board of Directors

Nonprofit General Counsel Chief Executive Officer Past International Presidents Past International Directors