

Minutes of the 2017-2018 Board of Directors Teleconference February 21, 2018

The 2017-2018 Toastmasters International Board of Directors convened on February 21, 2018, with International President Balraj Arunasalam, DTM, presiding. The other officers and directors present were: Lark Doley, DTM; Deepak Menon, DTM; Richard Peck, DTM; Mike Storkey, DTM; Don Bittick, DTM; David Fisher, DTM; Reginald Darnell Ford, DTM; Vera Johnson, DTM; Matt Kinsey, DTM; Jim Kohli, DTM; Monique Levesque-Pharoah, DTM; Morag Mathieson, DTM; Mary Morrison, DTM; Michael Osur, DTM; Daniel Rex, Chief Executive Officer; Radhi Spear, DTM; Elisa Tay, DTM; Tracy Thomason, DTM; and Derek Wong, DTM. Chief Financial Officer John Bond, Chief Operations Officer Sally Newell Cohen and Secretary/Treasurer Jennifer Barr also were present. No Board members were absent.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

- 1. The Board reviewed and unanimously voted to accept the agenda as presented.
- 2. The 2017-2018 Executive Committee convened February 13, 2018, with International President Balraj Arunasalam, DTM, presiding. The other officers present were: International President-Elect Lark Doley, DTM; First Vice President Deepak Menon, DTM; Second Vice President Richard Peck, DTM; Chief Executive Officer Daniel Rex and Immediate Past International President Mike Storkey, DTM. Chief Operations Officer Sally Newell Cohen and Secretary/Treasurer Jennifer Barr also were present. No Committee members were absent. The report of the Executive Committee was presented by International President-Elect Lark Doley, DTM and covered the following items:

a. HIGHLY CONFIDENTIAL

b. The Committee discussed the Advisory Committee of Past Presidents (ACPP) quorum requirements to conduct business, and the potential alternatives to proceed if quorum is not met. The Committee determined that the discussion should continue at the March Board meeting.

3. HIGHLY CONFIDENTIAL



4. The Board voted to accept the appointment of the recommended 2018-2019 region advisors as follows:

Region 1 Tod Henry, DTM

Mary Swanson, DTM

Region 2 Dietmar Wagenknecht, DTM

Rosalyn Carter, DTM

Region 3 Atheria Scott, DTM

Region 4 Bob Hooey, DTM

Rob Christeson, DTM

Region 5 Farzana Chohan, DTM

Heather Perkins, DTM

Region 6 Melissa McGavick, DTM

Jeff Sobel, DTM

Region 7 Al Tuten, DTM

Region 8 Roy Ganga, DTM

Region 9 Elaine Rogers, DTM

Region 10 Elizabeth Nostedt, DTM

Region 11 Dunstanette Macauley, DTM

Region 12 Coral McVean, DTM

Region 13 Gauri Seshadri, DTM

Region 14 Kees Broos, DTM



5. International President Balraj Arunasalam reported on his visit to Districts 90 and 70 in support of the Pathways learning experience launch. It was apparent to President Arunasalam that some clubs in Australia are not aware of Pathways experience despite its launch in that region in December 2017. To ensure that awareness continues to grow, President Arunasalam encourages the Board to continue to support this initiative and continue talking about the program at district conferences.

As there was no other business on the agenda, the teleconference was adjourned.

Pursuant to Policy 11.3, items contained in the minutes of this meeting were classified as "unrestricted" upon distribution of the minutes by World Headquarters, not to include any matters marked "restricted."

Jennifer Barr Secretary/Treasurer

Distribution: Board of Directors

Nonprofit General Counsel Chief Executive Officer Past International Presidents

Past International Presidents
Past International Directors