

Minutes of the Toastmasters International Annual Business Meeting Palm Desert, California August 14, 2010

The meeting was called to order by International President Gary Schmidt, DTM at 7:30 a.m. on Saturday, August 14, 2010.

Immediate Past International President Jana Barnhill, DTM, AS moved to amend Paragraph 13 of the Rules of Order of the Toastmasters International Annual Business Meeting as a result of changes to the Toastmasters International Bylaws that were approved by the membership in August 2009.

The chair called for a vote to amend the Rules of Order of the Toastmasters International Annual Business Meeting as described and the membership voted in favor of passing the motion.

Chair Schmidt announced the following appointments:

- Timers Darrell Zeller, DTM, Club 4039 and Ruth Koepp, DTM, Club 5963
- Credentials Committee Chair Past International President Robert Barnhill, DTM, AS
- Credentials Committee Vice Chairs Past International Director Michael Smith, DTM and Past International Director Judy Southwick, DTM
- Supervisor of Ballot Counters and Tellers International Director Kristal DiCarlo, DTM
- Chair of Ballot Counters and Tellers Past International Director Dee Dees, DTM
- Parliamentarian Past International Director Herb Nowlin, DTM, Certified Parliamentarian

Credentials Committee Chair Barnhill reported as follows: A total of 17,390 ballots were accredited, representing 8,695 of the 12,609 eligible clubs, with two votes each, and 177 of the 293 eligible delegates at large were present, each with one vote. The Chair declared a quorum to be present.

Parliamentarian Nowlin explained the procedural rules prescribed by the Board of Directors for the election of four officers for the 2010-2011 term and of seven directors for the 2010-2012 term. Nowlin also provided directions for delegates on the casting of ballots.

Past International President, Johnny Uy, DTM, Chair of the 2009-2010 International Leadership Committee, presented the Committee's report.

The following are the results of the officer and director elections:

Candidate	Office	Ballot 1	Ballot 2	Ballot 3
Pat Johnson, DTM	International President (uncontested)	1		
Michael Notaro, DTM	International President-Elect (uncontested)	1		
John Lau, DTM	First Vice President (uncontested)	1		
John Rich, DTM	Second Vice President (floor candidate)	3,499		
Bash Turay, DTM	Second Vice President	3,636	3,972	



Ralph Wallace, DTM	Second Vice President	5,673	6,843	7,801
George Yen, DTM	Second Vice President (floor candidate)	4,545	6,087	9,365
Kevin Doyle, DTM	International Director Region 2	10,810		
Debra Ledsinger, DTM	International Director Region 2	6,629		
Patricia Hannan, DTM	International Director Region 4	4,628		
Jacquie Schnider, DTM	International Director Region 4	12,795		
Gina Cook, DTM	International Director Region 6	13,733		
John MacDonald, DTM	International Director Region 6	3,652		
Patricia Gann, DTM	International Director Region 8	6,749		
David Hollingshead, DTM	International Director Region 8	10,581		
Roberta Perry, DTM	International Director Region 10	14,710		
Lois Sicking, DTM	International Director Region 10	2,704		
Mike Storkey, DTM (uncontested)	International Director Region 12	1		
Gea Ban Peng, DTM	International Director Region 14	12,048		
Adelina C. Royo, DTM	International Director Region 14	5,392		

Three separate ballots were conducted for Second Vice President because no simple majority had been reached in the first or second ballot. The candidate with the lowest number of ballots was removed from consideration after ballots one and two.

For the four uncontested offices it was moved and seconded that a secret ballot be dispensed with and a single ballot cast.

Chair Schmidt announced that Johnson, Notaro, Lau and Yen had been elected International President, International President-Elect, First Vice President and Second Vice President respectively, for 2010-2011.

The Bylaws of Toastmasters International authorizes the submission of proposed Bylaws amendments by "at least one percent (1%) of all the votes held by the voting membership" (Article XIV, Section 1(b)(2)). Based on the total number of clubs eligible to vote at the 2010 Annual Business Meeting, (25,218 votes), the 1% minimum requirement for any such proposal to be submitted for consideration at the 2011 Annual Business Meeting is 253, representing 127 clubs or 253 delegates at large, or any combination of those two voting memberships.





Chair Schmidt also announced the following candidates elected as international director for the term of 2010-2012: Doyle, Schnider, Cook, Hollingshead, Perry, Storkey and Gea.

There being no further business to come before the 79th Annual Business Meeting, it was adjourned at 11:50 a.m.

Sally Newell Cohen Secretary/Treasurer

Sally Hewell Cohe

Distribution: Board of Directors Nonprofit General Counsel Executive Director



Rules of Order of the Toastmasters International Annual Business Meeting

Paragraph 13 Revised August 14, 2010

The International President, the President-Elect, the three (3) two (2) Vice Presidents, and the International Directors from the eight (8) fourteen (14) geographic regions and the International Director from outside the United States and Canada shall be elected by majority vote. In the event no candidate for a particular office receives a majority vote, the candidate having the lowest vote for that office shall be dropped from the succeeding ballot. In the case of a tie vote, the choice shall be decided by lot."