

Minutes of the Toastmasters International Annual Business Meeting Las Vegas, Nevada August 20, 2011

The meeting was called to order by International President Pat Johnson, DTM at 12:15 p.m. on Saturday, August 20, 2011.

Chair Johnson announced the following appointments:

- Timers Karen Lewison, Club 2462 and Dana Wall, Club 2628
- Credentials Committee Chair Past International President Alfred Herzing, DTM
- Credentials Committee Vice Chairs Past International President Robert Barnhill, DTM, AS and Past International Director Tim Swearingen, DTM
- Supervisor of Ballot Counters and Tellers International Director Theo Black, DTM
- Parliamentarian Past International Director Herb Nowlin, DTM, Certified Parliamentarian

Credentials Committee Chair Herzing reported as follows: A total of 17,808 ballots were accredited, representing 8,811 of the 13,178 eligible clubs, with two votes each, and 186 of the 309 eligible delegates at large were present, each with one vote. The Chair declared a quorum to be present.

Parliamentarian Nowlin explained the procedural rules prescribed by the Board of Directors for the election of four officers for the 2011-2012 term and of seven directors for the 2011-2013 term. Nowlin also provided directions for delegates on the casting of ballots.

Past International President, Chris Ford, DTM, Chair of the 2010-2011 International Leadership Committee, presented the Committee's report.

Candidate	Office	Ballot 1	Ballot 2	Ballot 3
Michael Notaro , DTM	International President (uncontested)	1		
John Lau , DTM	International President-Elect (uncontested)	1		
George Yen , DTM	First Vice President (uncontested)	1		
Jim Kokocki, DTM	Second Vice President	5,241	5,761	7,378
Mohammed Murad, DTM	Second Vice President	7,076	7,534	10,195
Mary G. Russell, DTM	Second Vice President (floor candidate)	1,389		
Mike Raffety, DTM	Second Vice President (floor candidate)	3,827	4,311	
John Barnes, DTM	International Director Region 1	3,792		

The following are the results of the officer and director elections:



James Sultan, DTM	International Director Region 1	8,863	
J Randy Penn, DTM	International Director Region 1	4,618	
David Estrada, DTM	International Director Region 3	7,291	
David McCallister, DTM	International Director Region 3	10,223	
Andrew Little, DTM	International Director Region 5 (uncontested)	1	
Viki Kinsman, DTM	International Director Region 7	10,468	
Deborah Lee, DTM	International Director Region 7	7,090	
Wendy Harding, DTM	International Director Region 9 (uncontested)	1	
Lois Strachan, DTM	International Director Region 11	7,568	
George Thomas, DTM	International Director Region 11	9,994	
Balraj Arunasalam, DTM	International Director Region 13 (uncontested)	1	

Three separate ballots were conducted for Second Vice President because no simple majority had been reached in the first or second ballot. The candidate with the lowest number of ballots was removed from consideration after ballots one and two.

For the six uncontested offices it was moved and seconded that a secret ballot be dispensed with and a single ballot cast.

Chair Johnson announced that Notaro, Lau, Yen and Murad had been elected International President, International President-Elect, First Vice President and Second Vice President respectively, for 2011-2012.

The Bylaws of Toastmasters International authorizes the submission of proposed Bylaws amendments by "at least one percent (1%) of all the votes held by the voting membership" (Article XIV, Section 1(b)(2)). Based on the total number of clubs eligible to vote at the 2011 Annual Business Meeting, (26,356 votes), the 1% minimum requirement for any such proposal to be submitted for consideration at the 2012 Annual Business Meeting is 263, representing 131 clubs or 263 delegates at large, or any combination of those two voting memberships.

Chair Johnson also announced the following candidates elected as international director for the term of 2011-2013: Sultan, McCallister, Little, Kinsman, Harding, Thomas and Arunasalam.



There being no further business to come before the 80th Annual Business Meeting, it was adjourned at 3:25 p.m.

Sally Newell Cohe

Sally Newell Cohen Secretary/Treasurer

Distribution: Board of Directors Nonprofit General Counsel Executive Director