Become the Leader and Speaker you want to be

Golden Gavel Award

Toastmasters’ most prestigious award is the Golden Gavel. It has been given annually to an individual distinguished in the fields of communication and leadership for the past 53 years. The award is presented at the Toastmasters International Convention.

Toastmasters International has named Dato’ Rohana Binti Tan Sri Datuk Haji Rozhan its 2104 Golden Gavel recipient. Dato’ Rohana is chief executive officer of Astro Malaysia Holdings Berhad, a leading integrated consumer media entertainment group. The company has operations in TV, radio, publications and digital media. She is also CEO of Astro’s subsidiary TV business, MEASAT Broadcast Network Systems.

Dato’ Rohana has led Astro to be one of Southeast Asia's leading producers of multilingual content comprising local, regional and international programming. More than half of all TV households in Malaysia are Astro’s customers. Under her leadership, the company has won industry recognitions, including Brand of the Year 2012 and Brand Icon 2013.

In 2013, Dato’ Rohana won CNBC’s Asia Business Leader Award in the Corporate Social Responsibility category. She was recognized for her devotion to educational, environmental and societal issues, and for integrating social responsibility into business objectives. In the same year, she was also recognized with a Silver Stevie Award for Executive of the Year in the media and entertainment category.

Previously, Dato’ Rohana was Astro’s chief financial officer, and in her role she played a key part in getting the company listed on the Main Board of the Kuala Lumpur Stock Exchange in 2003. Before joining Astro, she was head of finance for Unilever.


Past Golden Gavel recipients:

 Year    Recipient     Industry  
 2013    Susan Cain    Leadership expert, author  
 2012    John C. Maxwell    Leadership expert, author  
 2011    Robin Sharma    Leadership expert, author  
 2010    Carolyn Kepcher    Author, media personality, business leader  
 2009    Bruce Tulgan    Author; founder and chairman, RainmakerThinking  
 2008    Pamela Wallin    Canadian journalist, media personality  
 2007    Barbara De Angelis    Radio personality, author  
 2006    Jim Kouzes    Leadership expert, author, speaker  
 2005    Marcus Buckingham    Leadership expert, author, speaker  
 2004    Dr. Stephen Covey    Author; co-founder, Franklin Covey Company  
 2003    Debbie Fields Rose    Author; founder, Mrs. Fields Cookies  
 2002    Dr. Richard Lederer     Author, communication and leadership expert  
 2001    Jim Cathcart    Author, speaker, human-development expert  
 2000    Nido Qubein    Speaker, consultant, entrepreneur  
 1999    Zig Ziglar    Speaker, author  
 1998    Jeanne Robertson    Speaker, humorist  
 1997    Dr. Deepak Chopra    Author, speaker  
 1996    Dr. LeRoy Walker    President, U.S. Olympic Committee  
 1995    Tony Robbins    Author, seminar leader  
 1994    Les Brown    Motivational speaker  
 1993    Peter Legge    Speaker, publisher  
 1992    Dr. Kenneth H. Blanchard    Author, management expert  
 1991    Bill Gove    Professional speaker, seminar leader  
 1990    Tom Peters    Author, management expert   
 1989    Joel H. Weldon    Professional speaker, seminar leader  
 1988    Grace M. Hopper    Rear Admiral, U.S. Navy Reserve (retired); computer pioneer  
 1987    Dr. Wayne Dyer    Psychologist, author, speaker  
 1986    Art Linkletter    Author, speaker, TV personality  
 1985    Marva Collins    Educator  
 1984    Dr. Charles W. Jarvis    Humorist, lecturer  
 1983    Mark Russell    Humorist, writer, lecturer  
 1982    Dr. Joyce Brothers    Psychologist, author, speaker  
 1981    James L. Hayes    Management expert, speaker  
 1980    Dr. Kenneth McFarland    Philanthropist, lecturer, author  
 1979    Bob Richards    Motivational speaker, Olympic champion  
 1978    Dr. Robert H. Schuller    Theologian, author, lecturer  
 1977    Gordon Sinclair    Newsman, broadcaster, author  
 1976    Earl Nightingale    Broadcaster, author  
 1975    John W. Warner    Administrator, American Revolution Bicentennial Administration  
 1974    Bobby Richardson    Speaker, athletic coach  
 1973    Dr. S.I. Hayakawa    Author, lecturer  
 1972    Cavett Robert    Author, lecturer  
 1971    Wallace Jamie    Director of International Public Relations, Carnation Company  
 1969    Walter Cronkite    Newsman, journalist  
 1968    Greer Garson    Stage, screen and television personality  
 1967    John W. Fisher    Commissioner and Chairman of the Board, Canadian Centennial Commission  
 1966    Eugene J. McNeeley    Former President, AT&T  
 1965     Robert Moses     City planner and president, New York World's Fair 1964-65  
 1964    Lowell Thomas    Writer, commentator, lecturer  
 1963    Dr. Ralph C. Smedley    Founder, Toastmasters International  
 1962    Reed Harris    Executive Assistant to the Director, U.S. Information Agency  
 1961    Eric Johnston    President, Motion Picture Association of America  
 1960    Joseph N. Welch    Boston attorney  
 1959    Dr. Frank C. Baxter    Professor Emeritus, USC; television personality