

Minutes of the Toastmasters International Annual Business Meeting Orlando, Florida August 18, 2012

The meeting was called to order by International President Michael Notaro, DTM, at 12:30 p.m. on Saturday, August 18, 2012.

Chair Notaro announced the following appointments:

- Timers Rikesh Amin, Club 7250 and Maureen Cauley, Club 4131
- Credentials Committee Chair Past International President Chris Ford, DTM
- Credentials Committee Vice Chairs Past International President Robert Barnhill, DTM, AS and Past International Director Dolores Dees, DTM
- Supervising Director International Director Jacquie Schnider, DTM
- Parliamentarian Past International President and Professional Registered Parliamentarian John Noonan, DTM

Credentials Committee Chair Ford reported as follows: A total of 18,437 ballots were accredited, representing 9,132 of the 13,093 eligible clubs, with two votes each, and 173 of the 313 eligible delegates at large were present, each with one vote. The Chair declared a quorum to be present.

Parliamentarian Noonan explained the procedural rules prescribed by the Board of Directors for the election of three officers for the 2012–2013 term and of seven directors for the 2012–2014 term. Noonan also provided directions for delegates on the casting of ballots.

Past International President, Jana Barnhill, DTM, AS, Chair of the 2011–2012 International Leadership Committee, presented the Committee's report.

Candidate	Office	Votes
George Yen , DTM	International President-Elect (uncontested)	1
Mohammed Murad , DTM	First Vice President (uncontested)	1
Theo Black, DTM	Second Vice President	3,808
Jim Kokocki, DTM	Second Vice President	13,318
Mike Barsul, DTM	International Director Region 2 (uncontested)	1
Patricia Hannan, DTM	International Director Region 4	9,251
Mary Swanson, DTM	International Director Region 4	8,665
Randie Jacobs, DTM	International Director Region 6	1,960

The following are the results of the officer and director elections:



Lori Lococo, DTM	International Director Region 6	15,698
Cat Angus, DTM	International Director Region 8	6,337
Kristina Kihlberg, DTM	International Director Region 8	10,903
Don Griffith, DTM	International Director Region 10	11,263
Robert O'Donnell, DTM	International Director Region 10	1,204
Lois Sicking, DTM	International Director Region 10	5,212
Mike Helm, DTM	International Director Region 12 (uncontested)	1
Manuel Espina, DTM	International Director Region 14	6,041
Joseph Gomez, DTM	International Director Region 14	10,626

For the four uncontested offices it was moved and seconded that a secret ballot be dispensed with and a single ballot cast.

Chair Notaro announced that Yen, Murad and Kokocki had been elected International President-Elect, First Vice President and Second Vice President respectively, for 2012–2013.

The Bylaws of Toastmasters International authorizes the submission of proposed Bylaws amendments by "at least one percent (1%) of all the votes held by the voting membership" (Article XIV, Section 1(b)(2)). Based on the total number of clubs eligible to vote at the 2012 Annual Business Meeting, (26,186 votes), the 1% minimum requirement for any such proposal to be submitted for consideration at the 2013 Annual Business Meeting is 262, representing 131 clubs or 262 delegates at large, or any combination of those two voting memberships.

Chair Notaro also announced the following candidates elected as international director for the term of 2012–2014: Barsul, Hannan, Lococo, Kihlberg, Griffith, Helm and Gomez.

There being no further business to come before the 81st Annual Business Meeting, it was adjourned at 2:45 p.m.

Sally sewell Con

Sally Newell Cohen Secretary/Treasurer

Distribution: Board of Directors Nonprofit General Counsel Executive Director